Fall 2017 Woodland Ecology Series

Woodland Ecology Series:

Native Woodlands: conservation, biodiversity, communities, and food-webs.

Everyone who enters a forest or savanna knows at first encounter that trees and other woody plants live in dynamic relationships to countless organisms. The conservation and care of native woodlands requires an appreciation of these relationships, and a good place to start is with our fall Woodland Ecology Series. These small-group workshops are conversational and active and presented by experts with deep understanding and broad knowledge of woodland ecology. For more information and to register, contact Jack Phillips at newtreeschool@gmail.com.


Saturday, August 26th: Native Oaks of the Southern Loess Hills: ecology, distribution, and conservation,  with Robert Smith, native tree conservationist and Jack Phillips, naturalist, registered consulting arborist, and principal of The Naturalist School. Waubonsie State Park, Fremont County, Iowa. 8:30am – noon.

Saturday, September 2nd: Woody Plants of the Loess Hills with Jack Phillips. Hitchcock Nature Center, Honey Creek, Iowa.  7:30am – 11:00. 

Sunday, September 10th: Fungal Symbionts of Native Woodlands and Savannas with Kathleen Thompson, graduate student in mycology and lichenology, Iowa State University. Hitchcock Nature Center, Honey Creek, Iowa.  8- 11:30. Afternoon Session: Gleason-Hubel Wildlife Area, Harrison County, Iowa. 1 -4:30pm. 

Saturday, September 16th: Native Trees and Shrubs for Pollinator Conservation with Dr. Theodore Burk, Professor of Biology, Creighton University. Hitchcock Nature Center, Honey Creek, Iowa.  7:30 – 11am. 

Sunday, September 24th: Woodland Conservation and Avian Ecology with avian ecologists Michelle Biodrowski, Nicholas Salick, and Jason Andersen. Gleason-Hubel Wildlife Area, Harrison County, Iowa. 8-11:30 am. 

Each workshop will have limited enrollment. Tuition is $15 for each workshop. The fall 2017 Woodland Ecology series is generously supported by Pottawattamie County Conservation, Harrison County Conservation, Loess Hills Alliance, Tallgrass Prairie Oak Savanna Fire Science Consortium, and Golden Hills RC&D.